Jack is 2 months

Over the next few months, familia Dei will be transitioning to more of a personal family blog. I’m introducing my sweet wife, Alex, to the blogging table for everyone’s favorite — mom blogging. Enjoy!

Technically, Jack has been 2 months since September 2nd but I thought I’d pipe in and give some 2-month updates and pictures for out of town family and friends.

Here I am at 39 weeks, just days before Jack was born. Looking good. Not tired at all. (just kidding). Without giving too many unneccesary details, my labor and delivery started slow and irregular on Friday morning lasting through Sunday morning when I started to feel painful contractions. We didn’t go into the hospital until Monday a little bit after midnight. Once we got there, my contractions were about 30 seconds apart and intense. I labored for about an hour or two, and missed my window for an epidural. Au Natural. Looking back, I’m glad I was able to do it without any medication; in the process, it was all mind-over-matter. 
Jack was born at 5:28 AM on July 2nd, weighing in at 7 lbs. 10 oz. and measuring 21 inches. He slept almost the entire following 24 hours, which I have since heard is pretty typical for the first 24 hours of life. I guess birth is just as traumatizing for the baby :)

Our boy has grown so fast and has brought both Jordan and I so much joy. He is our biggest blessing. We have been astonished by the amount and intensity of love we have for him. It truly is an amazing reflection and lesson on the way God the Father loves us, His children. Here’s a few more pictures of the cutest baby ever (I’m biased).


We had lots of visitors those first few weeks. Uncle Peter and Jack at the hospital, Aunt Jess and Jack at home. Grandpa Tim (Jack’s middle name-sake) and Jack at the hospital.We had some close friends that came to visit Jack in the hospital too – Anna and Holly!Here’s some pictures from home of Jack’s first days. Those eyes of his…

Lots of lovely visitors who generously brought us meals, which is beyond helpful! I didn’t cook for almost a full 2 months. Here are some pictures of Jack at 1 month.

And now at 2 months!He has lots of sweet smiles for us these days. Usually he brings his hands up to his face when he smiles and sort of turns away in a bashful way. It is so sweet.

At our last doctor’s appointment he weighed in at 12 lbs. 12 oz. and measured 23 inches long. Almost 2 feet! We couldn’t be more blessed with our little dad-look-a-like dude.

We love you Jackson!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jack is 2 months

  1. Midge says:

    i think this is the best blog entry ever! A bit biased, totally in love grandma!

  2. Nancy Verrall Warren says:

    What a sweet boy! Can’t wait to see him again next time I’m in MN. Enjoy this special time. XO

  3. Libby Frank says:

    Hey Alex, your baby is gorgeous and things are sounding (and looking) so good! What a blessing. Congratulations!

What do you think?

